GT1 MANAGEMENT ET COORDINATION

La gestion du projet assure une coordination efficace et la mise en place des procédures adéquates pour atteindre les objectifs dans le respect des délais et du budget. La société HS Orka est en charge de cette coordination. Le Dr Gudmundur O. Fridleifsson a été nommé coordinateur. Chef de projet expérimenté, ilexerce cette fonction pour le consortium Icelandic Deep Drilling Project (IDDP) depuis 15 ans.

GT2 INTÉGRATION, SYNTHÈSE TRANSVERSALE DES RÉSULTATS

Le rôle de ce groupe de travail est de réunir régulièrement les équipes partenaires pour examiner les progrès et les actions relatifs aux différentes technologies. L’échange d’expertise généré par le développement des démonstrateurs sera synthétisé. Il sera présenté dans des bonnes pratiques pour en faciliter le déploiement et dans des Modes Opératoires Normalisés (MON). Cela permettra d’en tirer les enseignements et de préparer les documents de travail qui seront utilisés dans le GT3 pour la création de concepts commerciaux. Ces travaux seront notamment utiles pour une analyse selon une approche cycle de vie et la validation des données économiques des GT 6-8 en particulier, mais aussi GT 4 et 5.

GT3 STRATÉGIES COMMERCIALES ET D’EXPLOITATION

Les modèles économiques et les plans pour les futurs projets pilotes commerciaux et d’exploitation sont développés dans ce groupe de travail. Il comprend également la production et la diffusion d’informations relatives à l’environnement, l’évaluation des risques, et l’analyse selon une approche de cycle de vie. Ces informations sont exploitées pour mettre en œuvre des actions d’atténuation des risques. Pour répondre aux préoccupations sociétales liées aux projets, des actions de communication/ et des actions participatives sont mises en place. En lien avec le GT9, elles ciblent les différentes partie-prenantes afin d’améliorer la connaissance du public au sujet de la géothermie profonde (EGS) et son acceptabilité sociale (informations sur les bénéfices de la sécurité énergétique en général, impact sur la création d’emplois…). Des journées porte-ouvertes sur les lieux des trois démonstrateurs sont organisées pour susciter l’intérêt des marchés et créer de nouvelles opportunités de déploiements. Les innovations techniques sont étudiées par les GT 4 -8. Elles portent sur les aspects les plus pertinents pour le développement des EGS.

GT4 MÉTHODE SCIENTIFIQUE (MÉTHODE)

Dans les systèmes de géothermie profonde qui pourraient être exploités grâce aux EGS, la difficulté principale est souvent d’obtenir des productivités et/ ou injectivités adéquates. En règle générale, ces problématiques sont liées à une trop faible perméabilité du sous-sol. Afin de pouvoir généraliser l’exploitation de la géothermie profonde, ces cas doivent été traités avec des méthodologies appropriées. Ce groupe de travail vise à mettre en œuvre les technologies adaptées aux différents sites exploitables et à définir des scénarios de développement.

GT5 MÉTHODE SCIENTIFIQUE

Exploiter l’énergie géothermique requiert des technologies fiables, notamment pour le forage, les cuvelages et leurs connexions. Ce point est particulièrement crucial lorsque l’on parle de géothermie profonde. Dans ce groupe, le travail vise à améliorer les technologies existantes et à en expérimenter de nouvelles. Nous attendons notamment des progrès en matière de « marteau fond de trou », de matériel de cuvelages et de connexion. Des adaptations et des transferts de technologies depuis les industries du pétrole et du gaz seront étudiés. Ils pourraient en effet être particulièrement pertinents pour la mise en place de forages multi drains et solutionner certains aléas géologiques.

GT6 MÉTHODE SCIENTIFIQUE SPÉCIFIQUE À REYKJANES

A Reykjanes, il s’agit d’approfondir de façon déviée un puits préexistant. Le cuvelage de production sera fixé à environ 3 km de profondeur alors que la section de production du puits sera forée à environ 5 km de profondeur. La plupart de la production des puits sous-jacents se situe à 2 – 2,5 km de profondeur avec des colonnes de production à environ 800 m de profondeur. L’éventail des températures dans les puits de production se situe entre 270 – 320 °C. La température attendue à 4 – 5 km de profondeur devrait varier entre 400 –500°C avec un maximum potentiel de 550°C. Les études sismiques précédentes indiquent que la limite fragile/ductile de la roche basaltique hôte à 7 km de profondeur devrait se situer à 650 –750°C.

GT7 MÉTHODE SCIENTIFIQUE SPÉCIFIQUE À VALENCE

En France, le démonstrateur de Valence sera le plus important développé dans le cadre du projet DeepEGS. Il produira de la chaleur et de l’électricité. Les travaux techniques et administratifs ont débuté en 2012. Le premier forage est prévu en mai 2018. Durant cette phase, un nouveau marteau fond de trou sera testé dans les roches de socle. Après les premiers tests de puits, il est envisagé de mettre en place un « multi drain » afin d’améliorer la productivité ou l’injectivité du puits. La cible géothermique du réservoir de Valence est l’interaction entre une faille normale dite « régionale » et l’interface Trias – socle. Cette cible est située à une profondeur d’environ 4500 m et permettra d’exploiter un fluide à une température estimée à 185 °C.

GT8 MÉTHODE SCIENTIFIQUE SPÉCIFIQUE À RIOM

Le second démonstrateur opérationnel en France sera celui de Riom. Il produira de la chaleur et de l’électricité. Le forage devrait débuter en Juillet 2019au premier trimestre 2020, à la suite des activités de Valence. Dans cette zone, Fonroche Géothermie continuera de dé velopper les technologies permettant l’amélioration de la productivité / injectivité des puits : mise en production du réservoir et multi drain.

GT9 DIFFUSION, SENSIBILISATION DES PARTIES PRENANTES, COMMUNICATION

L’objectif principal du GT9 est d’assurer une large diffusion de nos travaux et une sensibilisation des parties prenantes aux EGS. Cela se déroule à 3 niveaux :

  • Actions de dissémination ;
  • Sensibilisation des parties prenantes, conférences autour des résultats et de l’impact de DeepEGS ;
  • Création d’une feuille de route politique pour le développement de la géothermie EGS.

Le GT9 prendra la forme d’une plateforme de diffusion d’information et d’interactions avec les communautés qui s’intéressent aux énergies renouvelables.

DeepEGS souhaite optimiser les échanges de savoirs et d’expériences entre les partenaires du projet, et avec les parties prenantes pertinentes. Parmi elles, on peut citer l’administration centrale, les responsables politiques, les ONG, les instituts de recherche, les associations, les compagnies énergétiques, les distributeurs, gestionnaires de réseaux, le secteur éducatif et de formation… A ce titre, le projet a été invité par l’agence exécutive de l’innovation et des réseaux (INEA) à contribuer à ses activités d’information et de communication pour augmenter les synergies. Le projet soutiendra les actions de visibilité de H2020.

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

En cours d’envoi

Vous connecter avec vos identifiants

Vous avez oublié vos informations ?

Work Packages

WP1 PROJECT MANAGEMENT AND COORDINATION

The project management is organised to efficiently coordinate the project and to ensure that the appropriate procedures are implemented to achieve its targets within the established timeframe and budget. The energy company HS Orka will coordinate the DEEPEGS project. The appointed coordinator is Dr. Gudmundur O. Fridleifsson, he is an experienced project manager, and has been to project leader for the IDDP consortium for 15 years.

WP2 INTEGRATION, CROSS-CUTTING SYNTHESIS OF RESULTS

is the technical integration and synthesis work package and its role is to bring regularly together the partner teams to review progress and implementation of different technologies. The exchange of expertise and know-how generated in the development and implementation of the demonstrators will be synthesised into deployment practices and generation Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) needed to implement any lessons learned and prepare working documents to be taken up by WP3 for advancing the generation of business concepts, e.g. the life cycle perspective analysis, and validation of economics data from WPs 6-8 in particular, but as well WPs 4 and 5.

WP3 BUSINESS STRATEGIES AND EXPLOITATION

is the work package responsible for developing the business models and plans for future exploitation and market pilots. This work also incorporates the risk assessment information, environmental information, and life cycle perspective analysis information and uses this for implementing hazard mitigation actions. Communications addressing society concerns are prepared and in connection with WP9 are targeted to different stakeholders to improve awareness and public acceptance of EGS, and inform about benefits for general energy security and potential for job creation impacts e.g. via arising geothermal resource park opportunities. Open days / workshops at the three demonstrators are used to raise market interest and motivate future wider deployment opportunities. The technical innovations are managed through WPs 4-8, where the innovation and research activities developed in DEEPEGS will be focused on specific points highly relevant for EGS development.

WP4 SCIENTIFIC METHODOLOGY

In deep geothermal systems that could be operated as EGS, one of the main problems is usually to obtain adequate productivity and / or injection capacity of wells. In general, this is related either to a total lack of permeability at a large scale, or to a high degree of heterogeneity in permeabilities in relation to the deep structures and/or to too small local permeabilities. To be able to generalize the exploitation of deep heat, these cases must be addressed through appropriate methodologies. This work package aims to implement methodologies appropriate to the different exploitable sites and to define development scenarios.

WP5 SCIENTIFIC METHODOLOGY

For harnessing geothermal energy robust and well-trusted technologies are required for e.g. drilling, casings and couplings. This becomes even more critical when drilling deeper to create EGS, where conditions may become critically harsh for conventional technologies and materials used. This WP will mobilise work needed to improve available technologies and test new ones like e.g. mud-hammer and casings materials and couplings capable of withstanding harsher conditions arising in deep EGS situations. Also adaptation for geothermal implementations and transfer of technology from oil and gas industry will become important to encounter potential lack of permeability and “Fishbone” / Multi-drain drilling will need to be implemented.

WP6 SCIENTIFIC METHODOLOGY SPECIFIC FOR REYKJANES

In the Reykjanes system the approach is relatively simple as previously shown by the conceptual model in Fig. 2. The intention is to directionally drill a deeply cased well into/and underneath the exploited geothermal system. The production casing will be set at approximately 3 km depth, while the producing section of the well will be drilled to about 5 km depth. Most of the overlying production wells are 2–2,5 km deep with production casings to around 800 m depth. The temperature range in the production wells is 270-320°C. The temperature at 4-5 km depth is expected to range between 400-500°C, with a potential maximum of 550°C. From previous seismic studies the brittle/ductile boundary in the basaltic host rocks is expected at some 7 km depth, with temperatures of 650-750°C.

WP7 SCIENTIFIC METHODOLOGY SPECIFIC FOR VALENCE

The Valence’s demonstrator will be the first and the main one developed in France by DEEPEGS. The first development (especially technical and administrative rules and regulations) will be done from the beginning of the project. We expect to have completed execution of the project in three to four years. Soon after end of the DEEPEGS project we expect to connect the wells to a geothermal power plant in order to reach a commercial phase operation. The first drilling is expected in month twelve (M12) During the drilling phase a new mud-hammer tool will be tested. After drilling, and in accordance to the well monitoring, we anticipate being able to implement the multi-drain drilling method (or fishbone drilling). We expect that by two or three multi-drain boreholes (or side-track boreholes) we will improve the permeability performance of the well by higher fluid output. If successful the remaining consideration rests with the economy of such multi-drain systems for the local community. In Valence, the target will be Triassic sandstone and Basement rocks at 4500-5500 m depth, both of which are fractured The primary permeability of these formations is low and without the karst phenomenon. For that reason, Fonroche aims to drill through the main faults in order to get good secondary permeability.

WP8 SCIENTIFIC METHODOLOGY SPECIFIC FOR VISTRENQUE

The Vistrenque’s demonstrator will be the second one in operation in France, and drilling and EGS work will start during latter part of the Valence activities in DEEPEGS. In this area according to our first studies we have already conducted, the plan is to implement a new technology based on the multi drain drilling technology and stimulation for increasing permeability. We expect to do perform the first drilling operations in month 30, or just after the second well in Valence will be completed.

WP9 DISSEMINATION, STAKEHOLDER OUTREACH AND COMMUNICATIONS

The main aim of WP9 is to ensuring adequate and wide scale dissemination and outreach to stakeholders regarding the project developments on three levels:

  • Dissemination actions
  • Outreach to key stakeholders for consultations on the DEEPEGS results and impacts
  • Develop a Policy Roadmap for the widespread deployment of deep geothermal enhanced energy systems

WP9 will thus act as an interaction and dissemination platform and the external community interested in renewable energy systems. A number of activities have been foreseen in order to ensure the best exchange of knowledge and experience generated in DEEPEGS between the project partners, together with all relevant stakeholders (e.g. Governmental departments, policy managers, NGOs, research organisations, associations, energy companies, resellers, grid managers, educational/training institutions, etc.) both on the European and the global scale. Contribute, upon invitation by the Innovation and Networks Executive Agency (INEA), to common information and dissemination activities to increase synergies between, and the visibility of H2020 supported actions.

CONTACT US

You can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Sending

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?